View Full Version : Mooney, Kochenash, Parker and Wagner are Mahoning Valley Winners Before Rain Shortens

05-09-2010, 09:09 AM
(LEHIGHTON, PA 5-8-10) With five laps remaining in the Street Stock feature at Mahoning Valley Speedway, rain moved over the Lehighton area and put a halt the night’s program.
Up until that point, however, the race was a whale of a barnburner as Joe Mooney and Jamie Smith ran nearly every lap side-by-side as did third and fourth place runners Jason Frey and Jon Moser.

Smith, the pole starter, jumped out to the opening lap lead and fended off Jillian Long and third starting Mooney. By lap four Long fell back and Mooney went to the topside of Smith.

An amazing lead swapping duel then ensued as each driver flip-flopped the top spot with a total of five changes in all.

On lap 19 Mooney had just inched ahead of Smith and then on the following circuit the caution waved for two cars spinning on the back straight. Under the slow down the rains came and the race was called.

Mooney, who hails from Lehighton, got the win, his first of the season and fourth with a Street Stock.

As Mooney and Smith battled right down to the wire so too did Frey and Moser and did so while on the bumpers of the front pair. TJ Gursky rounded out the top five.

Frey, Randy Ahner, Jr., and Bernie Uphold won heats with Eric Danyluk annexing the consolation.

For the second time in three starts Austin Kochenash of Danielsville won in the Late Models.
Starting sixth, Kochenash used a lap 10 restart to motor past Lorin Arthofer II and once in front he cruised to the win.

Arthofer, who led from the start, held on for a season best second while Shawn Sitarchyk was third.

In a battle of track titans, four-time and defending champ Todd Stehle and two-time champion and current point leader Paul Kohler, Jr., where battling for fourth on the final lap but made contact with both spinning just a turn from the finish.

Jason Zatsko was the heat winner.

Jeff Parker of Havertown picked up his second Dirt Modified win of the season. Parker passed early leader DJ Wagner on lap four and once in front it was smooth sailing. Last week’s winner Dave Thomas was runner-up with Bill Briggs third.

The heat win was scored by Wagner.

The Micro Stocks made their first appearance of the season and in it was a very competitive event. Pete Bayles led early but on lap six DJ Wagner reeled him and two laps later made the pass for the lead.

However, Wagner would only enjoy one lap out front as he and Bayles got their bumpers locked and had to stop in order to undo the issue.
Bob Wagner of Rockaway, NJ, then assumed the point and held off Roger Snyder en route to his third Mahoning win.

Wayne Krenn and Bob Wagner earned heat verdicts.

Modified heat wins went to Bill Teel and Andy Szapacs. In the Pro4 Late Model prelim it was point leader Kris Graver.

Late Model Feature Finish, 20 Laps: 1.Austin Kochenash 2.Lorin Arthofer II 3.Shawn Sitarchyk 4.Jason Zatsko 5.Geno Steigerwalt 6.Cole Lenhart 7.Paul Kohler, Jr. 8.Todd Stehle 9.Rick Wallace

Street Stock Feature Finish, 20 Laps: 1. Joe Mooney 2.Jamie Smith 3.Jason Frey 4.Jon Moser 5.TJ Gursky 6.Brian Labar 7.Randy Ahner, Jr. 8.Kristy Morone Arthofer 9.Gene Bowers 10.Steve Hoffman 11.Todd Ahner 12.Chris May 13.Josh Mooney 14.Bernie Uphold 15.Devin Gibson 16.Chip Wanamaker 17.Jillian Long 18.Matt May 19.Steven Steigerwalt 20.Eric Danyluk 21.Adam Santee 22.Justin Miller 23.Paul Effrig DNQ: Dale Santee

Dirt Modified Feature Finish, 20 Laps: 1.Jeff Parker 2.Dave Thomas 3.Bill Briggs 4.Ryan Beltz 5.John Cornell III 6.Bill Sitler 7.Tom Cramer 8.DJ Wagner 9.Randy Thomas
Pro4 Late Model Feature Finish, 20 Laps: 1.

Micro Stock Feature Finish, 15 Laps: 1.Bob Wagner 2.Roger Snyder 3.Brian Correll 4.Wayne Krenn 5.DJ Wagner 6.Joe Carroll 7.John Rokos 8.Dave Parker 9.Nino Fernandez 10.Dave Allen 11.Bill Darling 12.Suzie Carroll 13.Pete Bayles 14.Calvin Carroll