View Full Version : Kochenash and Arthofer Score Rousing Late Race Wins; Mod Feature Cut Short by Rain

08-22-2010, 09:29 PM
(LEHIGHTON, PA 8-21-10) The 7 Card Stud Modified wild card 35-lap race at Mahoning Valley Speedway was shaping up to be a great dogfight as co-point leaders John Bennett and Don Wagner were racing one-two but with 13 laps complete rain began to fall and the event was halted.
Early leader Troy Bollinger, Chip Santee and Joe Mooney filled out the front five at the time of the stoppage.
As of press time no date has been set for the conclusion of the race which is a key event in the 7 Card Stud Modified Poker Series.
All other classes did get their features in including a pair thrillers coming in the Late Models and Street Stocks.
Austin Kochenash of Danielsville scored his sixth Late Model win of the season which came after an exciting late race pass over Dave Wallace.
Rick Wallace led the first two circuits until point leader Paul Koehler, Jr., eased his way to the front on lap three.
Shawn Sitarchyk moved to second with Kochenash hot on his heels. On lap seven Kochenash took the runner-up spot and was then putting the pressure on Koehler. Utilizing the topside, Kochenash finally was able to get by on lap 14.
However, he never made a complete lap as the leader as Koehler made contact with him entering turn two. Both spun and Koehler retired for the night while Kochenash went to the rear.
Dave Wallace was now the leader and stood to make it three wins in a row. Kochenash had other thoughts though.
With four laps left he was back to second and working inside of Wallace. With the field heading off turn four to receive the white flag, Kochenash got a run on Wallace and assumed the lead and got the win, his sixth in 10 starts.
Wallace held on for second while Todd Stehle was third.
Kristy Morone Arthofer of Bath led just one lap of the Street Stock feature, but it was the one that counted most, the last.
She passed race-long leader Devin Gibson in turn two of the final tour and picked up her first win of the season enabling her to stay within reach of point leader Randy Ahner, Jr. for the class title with five races remaining.
Gibson started second and outdueled Josh Mooney for the opening lap lead. Morone Arthofer then stayed glued to his rear bumper with TJ Gursky a close third.
All race long Morone Arthofer continued to try and force her powerful running Camaro past Gibson but he was having nothing of it.
In the closing laps she decisively looked to be the better of the pair. Neither had won a race this year and it was evident what they would settle for anything less than a victory.
Gibson took the white flag as the leader but going into turn two Morone Arthofer was able to power down to the inside of him and took over which led to the exciting conclusion.
Likewise Gursky was able to run to the outside of Gibson for second place. He too is among the title hunt contenders.
Gibson was put back two spots for unsportsmanlike conduct for an incident that occurred after the checkered flag was waved which placed him fifth. Ahner, Jr., and Brian Labar were third and fourth respectively.
In the Dirt Modified main Joe Stangle was looking to score his second straight win. But, late in the race he developed a push after his right front tire gave up. That allowed Bill Briggs of Pine Hill, NJ, to zero in and pass him with two laps to go.
Briggs then went on to his second win of the season. Dave and Randy Thomas took second and third.
Lehighton’s Kris Graver had no trouble in powering to his eighth Pro4 Late Model win. Graver took the lead on a lap two restart and once in front it was smooth sailing.
Jake Kibler notched a season best second and likewise for Kevin Stein who was third.
After a lot of shuffling and dicing, Wayne Krenn of Kempton emerged as a first time winner in the Micro Stock feature over Roger Snyder.

Modified running order after 13 laps: 1.John Bennett 2.Don Wagner 3.Troy Bollinger 4.Chip Santee 5.Joe Mooney 6.Bobby Jones 7.Eric Beers 8.Lou Strohl 9.Lou Strohl 10.Earl Paules 11.John Markovic 12.Rob Shultz 13.Jarred Nace 14.Kevin Graver, Jr. 15.Matt Higgins 16.Terry Markovic 17.Tom Flanagan 18.Keith Mullineaux 19.Ed Heim, Jr. 20.Andy Szapacs 21.Lonnie Behler DNS: Matt Clemens

Late Model Feature Finish, 20 Laps: 1.Austin Kochenash 2.Dave Wallace 3.Todd Stehle 4.Shawn Sitarchyk 5.Paul Koehler, Jr. 6.Rick Wallace

Street Stock Feature Finish, 25 Laps: 1.Kristy Morone 2.TJ Gursky 3.Randy Ahner Jr. 4.Brian Labar 5.Devin Gibson 6.Todd Ahner 7.Josh Mooney 8.Adam Santee 9.Justin Mooney 10.Jillian Long 11.Jason Frey 12.Jon Moser 13.Chip Wanamaker 14.Austin Santee 15.Jamie Smith 16.Mitch Hawk 17.Steve Steigerwalt 18.Gene Bowers 19.Ethan Rutherford 20.Chris May 21.Paul Effrig 22.Chris Smith DNS: Jim Yamelski

Dirt Modified Feature Finish, 20 Laps: 1.Bill Briggs 2.Dave Thomas 3.Randy Thomas 4.Scott Hulmes 5.Joe Stangle 6.Bill Sitler

Pro4 Late Model Feature, 20 Laps: 1.Kris Graver 2.Jake Kibler 3.Kevin Stein 4.Arland Moyer, Jr. 5.Mike Stofflet 6.Chad Keiser 7.Kevin Graver, Jr. DQ: Jeremy Miller DNS: Barry Christman, Jr.

Micro Stock Feature Finish, 15 Laps: 1.Wayne Krenn 2.Roger Snyder 3.Bill Darling 4.Dave Allen 5.DJ Wagner 6.Mario Oberto 7.Suzie Carroll 8.Joe Carroll 9.John Rakos 10.Calvin Carroll 11.Brian Correll DNS: Pete Bayles