PDA

View Full Version : 07/28/17 - Amy Wins; Finocchario Remains Undefeated In Superstocks At Spencer

RGeeProductions
07-29-2017, 11:37 PM
Amy Catalano, from Ontario, NY, returned to victory lane after nearly a year’s absence from winning at Spencer Speedway. “With the luck I have been having, I’ve been wishing for 2017 to just go away,” commented Amy. “The older I am getting the harder these wins are coming.”

In the Super Sixes, Brandon Allen repeated in that division’s 20-lap feature. Chris Finocchario did the same in the New York SuperStock division. Finally, Travis Montgomery picked up his very first feature win in the Grandpa Dog 4 cylinder class.

Chris Finocchario took the early lead in the 35-lap Sunoco Modified main event. Lap five saw the yellow fly when Eddie Hawkins and Daryl Lewis Jr. spun in the first turn. During this yellow, third place Bobby Lippa Jr. pitted and returned to the rear of the field.

Finocchario remained the leader on the restart, as Amy Catalano took second from Andy Lewis. But before she could challenge for the lead the yellow flew as Chris Clemens slowed on the backstretch.

The restart saw Amy claim the lead, with Mike Leaty on her rear bumper. Leaty’s run ended five laps later as a large flame burped out his exhaust and he slowed, causing the third yellow flag of the race.

Kevin Timmerman took over the challenge for the lead, but Amy’s car seemed like it was on rails. In the closing laps, Amy’s son Tommy took over third. At the checkers it was Amy followed by Timmerman, Tommy C, Finocchario and Jimmy Zacharias to round out the top five.

“I have to say thanks to my husband for working so hard on this car. We have six modifieds, plus a number of other cars he takes care of during the week,” added Amy.

The 25-lap New York SuperStock main was caution riddled early in the run. A number of multi-car tangles eliminated a number of cars, including early race leader Nat Peckham. Peckham led for the first five laps.