PDA

View Full Version : Snell Helmet / Firesuit Rule

ajsyrup
02-03-2006, 08:44 PM
So I was reading through the rules for 2006. Not many changes, but I noticed a requirement for a Snell 95 dated helmet?? In the past, I don't recall ever seeing this in the rules. I have been running for about 4 years not with a dot helmet?? Does this mean I have to buy a Snell approved? They cost almost double what a D.O.T. one does??

If you are using a harness or racing seat, a fire suit is required?? So no more running a stock seat with a five point for extra safety, because I really don't know many enduro drivers who have a extra fire suit lying around??

In my opinion, these rules are going to stop a lot of people from racing. They are adding a great deal to the cost of a low budget class in safety precautions that don't make all that much sense??

Honestly, I think I could get out of a five point racing harness faster than a stock seatbelt, considering the stock belt would be mounted to the piller next to the window I need to climb out of.

I'm just wondering what other people thought of this??

Do they plan on enforcing these rules?? If so, I think a lot of regular people may not be racing this upcoming season.

Well, just my opinion. I thought I would let others voice theirs as well.

W. J.
02-03-2006, 09:38 PM
Snell approved helmets are mandated for YOUR safety. If that's not worth the price of one, you may be in the wrong game. It's the best 'brain bucket' you can buy.
A used one may not cost as much as you think. The Saturday night guys have to have a Snell 2001 or newer, so I'm sure you might find some for sale if you look around. Your continued good health is worth the money you'll spend.

Rich Johnson
02-04-2006, 12:01 AM
..Walt..
Only use a K mart helmet if you have a K mart head.

..ajsyrup..
The difference between a D.O.T. helmet and a Snell has to do with fire resistance.

RacinRich

Tracy87BB
02-04-2006, 07:34 AM